Buckeyes, Headlines

Ohio State’s Billy Price named best center in college football

In just his first season at the position, Ohio State Buckeyes center Billy Price was named the 2017 recipient of the Rimington Trophy Thursday night, given to the nation’s top center at the ESPNU College Football Awards show at the College Football Hall of Fame.

The two-time captain transitioned from guard to center for the 2017 season, allowing him to set a school record with 54 consecutive starts1 while being a vocal point and leader not only on Ohio State’s offensive line, but for the team in general. Along with already owning the Ohio State record for consecutive starts, the fifth-year senior is one game away from tying Pat Elflein’s record for most career games played, one that he will tie once he plays in the Buckeyes’ Cotton Bowl against USC.

Already named first-team All-Big Ten and the winner of the Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year award in the conference, Price’s trophy case may need to expand. With that said, he is quite excited and humbled after being named college football’s top center.

“I am truly honored to win the Rimington Trophy,” Price said. “I want to thank the Boomer Esiason Foundation, the Rimington Trophy Committee and the voters for selecting me for this most prestigious honor. I also want to thank coach Meyer and coach Studrawa, our strength coach Mick Marotti and the entire Ohio State football program for all their efforts in helping me become the best football player and person I can be.”

His first season as the team’s center, Price helped power Ohio State’s offense to eclipse both 3,000 yards passing and 3,000 rushing, the only offense in the country to do so.

Want to see just how dominant Price has been this year. Just watch these two clips:


Along with all of the honors and awards he has already been given, Price is also a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award, which honors student-athletes with notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. He is a great football player, but he may just be a better person off the field than he is on the field, which says a lot.

Price is the second consecutive Buckeye to win the award. Current Minnesota Vikings center Pat Elflien won it in 2016. LeCharles Bentley (2001) is the only other Ohio State center to win the award.

  1. previously held by former Ohio State player and coach Luke Fickell. []