Headlines

Could D’Qwell Jackson’s Hit On Armon Binns Draw Scrutiny?

D’Qwell Jackson put a heck of a pop on Bengals receiver Armon Binns during the second quarter of Sunday’s loss. Binns was attempting to make a catch and Jackson came in and stunned him badly with a shot into the chest. Instant reaction was that Jackson (despite not being penalized) could very well receive a fine for that hit.

Former NFL official and FOX TV employee Mike Pereira disagreed with this assessment via Twitter.

I’ll be the first one to take an expert’s word on things and I do recognize Pereira as an authority to be sure. Even still, I’m not so sure that I totally agree with his conclusion.

The reason that I thought Jackson was going to be under a microscope for the hit is because the player was seemingly defenseless, and it appeared to me that Jackson effectively launched himself in an upward manner into the receiver. Whether or not he led with his helmet is up for debate and I think it might be subject to discipline.

I might be wrong, but I’m trying my best to keep up with the new NFL. We’ll all be better off when we all (players and commentators included) understand the rules completely and totally. And no, I’m not rooting for Jackson to lose money. I’m just looking to understand all the rules as they continue to morph and change.

The NFL used this language to “clarify” the defenseless player rules a year ago.

(b) Prohibited contact against a player who is in a defenseless posture is:
(1) Forcibly hitting the defenseless player’s head or neck area with the helmet, facemask, forearm, or shoulder, regardless of whether the defensive player also uses his arms to tackle the defenseless player by encircling or grasping him; and
(2) Lowering the head and making forcible contact with the top/crown or forehead/”hairline” parts of the helmet against any part of the defenseless player’s body.

[Related: Trent Richardson, Peyton Hillis and Watchable Football]

  • He did go upwards but I think DQ will be ok since he didn’t lead with the crown or make contact with Binn’s helmet. I thought it was a good hit.

  • The_Real_Shamrock

    First it wasn’t a dirty play and second DQ shouldn’t have been flagged but will most likely be fined and it’ll be nonsense. Other then not hitting the WR at all I can’t see that not being a legitimate play. If anyone saw Seattle vs Dallas you saw a brutal crack back hit by Seahawks WR Golden Tate on Cowboys LB Sean Lee. Tate was making a block for his QB and drove his entire upper body right under Lee’s chin. Now that was nasty not DQ’s play.

  • FearTheRoo

    They’ve fined a lot of hits lately it seems. So I wouldn’t be surprised it DQ gets one. But what I’m still wondering is, what was up with that unnecessary roughness call? Maybe I missed something but looked like a legit sack. Even the CBS announcers were confused, and they always agree with the refs no matter how bad…

  • Natedawg86

    How else do you hit him there? I don’t know if there is going to be any way soon that the defender can hit the opposition.

  • Away from the sack DQ smashed #84 for no apparent reason. We’ll show pics later today. It was a really dumb penalty for him to pick up.

  • BenRM

    It is closer to a fine-able hit than a non-fine IMO

  • dave

    totally clean hit led with the facemask into the reciever’s chest. text book on how to make a clean hit over the middle.

  • The_Real_Shamrock